A tradition of excellence for Mpumalanga

A tradition of excellence for Mpumalanga

Penreach Annual Teacher Awards Honours Educators across Ehlanzeni
24 November 2018

Each year Penreach celebrates educators who diligently and passionately work towards delivering quality education in our communities. These teachers partner with Penreach, a local NGO, to improve the quality of learning in early childhood development, numeracy and literacy, maths and science as well as leadership. Teachers attend Penreach Teacher Development Workshops as part of their professional development throughout the year.

Teachers, individuals, corporates and community members came together to celebrate a tradition of excellence on Saturday, 24 November at Penreach. The event was once again bursting with energy as more than 800 pre-school, primary school and high school teachers attended.

Delegates with Andile Ncontsa CEO Penreach

Traditional dancers welcomed teachers to an electric day filled with top performances by Artreach, a programme that provides extracurricular activities in music to children from the local Fundinjobo Secondary School. The audience was soon brought to their feet as the emerging talent of these scholars was enjoyed by all.

Amongst the distinguished guests were Ms Nomfusi Hazel Brukwe, District Director for Ehlanzeni and Ms Mmabatho Maboya (Cyril Ramaphosa Foundation), as well as Messrs Jacques Celliers (CEO of FNB and Chair of the Penryn Trust), James Aling (Chair of Penryn Council), and Dr Jabu Nukeri (SAASTA).

Entertainment at the ceremony by Artreach scholars

The awards are adjudicated with stringent criteria as teachers and schools demonstrate professionalism. Criteria include meeting curriculum standards and providing a stimulating teaching and learning environment. This year the inaugural Val Morris Reading Camp Volunteer Award was introduced to recognise exceptional commitment among the 300 volunteers that have established Reading Camps in their communities. Ms Val Morris, one of the first teachers at Penryn College, was honoured as Books in Homes came full circle and is now known as Penreach Books in Homes.

Pledges exceeding R30 000 on the day!
A new tradition was also introduced at the Penreach Annual Awards. The Penreach Pledge provides individuals and organisations an opportunity to pledge towards Penreach projects such as Reading Camps and Toy Libraries in aid of a literate South Africa and early learning. The Penreach Pledge received an overwhelming response on the day with R30 000 pledged – evidence of the passion and commitment towards the goal of educational excellence for all our children.

Visit the Pledge Pad photo gallery here.

View all the official photographs on the gallery via this link

2018 Awards winners
ECD Centre of the year: Sigcinekile Pre-School (Lucy Langa)
ECD practitioner of the year: Sabelo Mncina
Teacher of the year: Busisiwe Madholphe
School of the year: Vukasambe Primary School (Morris Ncube)
Val Morris Reading Camp Volunteer of the year: Trice Nukeri

Category Prize Winners: Front Row: left to right Busesiswe Mdlope, Lucy Langa, Trice Nukeri
Middle Row: Grant Williams Penryn College Executive Head, Sabelo Mncina, James Aling Chair of Penryn Council
Back Row: Andile Ncontsa CEO Penreach and Jacques Celliers CEO FNB and Chairman of Penryn Trust

Looking forward to seeing you there for the 2019 Penreach Awards!

For more information contacts penreach@penryn.co.za